2 comments on “Defining Learning

  1. I found your essay to be insightful. The way you described learning and understanding as fuel for the brain was very interesting. Sometimes we forget that our mind need fuel and nutrition to reach its fullest potential. We may learn, or take in those “nutrients”, but if we do not understand, or “digest”, the information, it is worthless in the end. You completely summed it up!

    When you mention that students differ “from every other individual in learning and understanding” because of their environment, I thought about it. In my opinion, there are groups and styles of learning and understanding. I believe everyone is unique, but that peoples’ learning styles can align. I think the same goes for understanding. There are the visual learners, auditory learners, and kinesthetic learners, and I believe everyone falls into at least one of those categories. As for understanding, I believe we are a product of our environment. I understand your point completely; therefore, I figured I would share mine.

    In your classroom(s), do you have any students that you would consider experts? I only see my students once per week for computers/technology, so it would be unfair to assume anyone of mine was an “expert” on the subject. I always find it interesting that a student can excel for me, and struggle for the rest of his/her teachers. While elective classes are typically less strenuous, I expect 100% from my students, and very rarely do I see less. I have a handful of students who are very knowledgeable when it comes to technology, but I am not sure they would be experts just yet.

    The need to check for understanding and put it to use is so important, and I agree. If we simply teach at our students, they will eventually tune us out. We need to constantly find ways to engage our students and check for understanding before we move onto the next lesson. I always tell me students we can not move on until I am sure everyone understands the basics. My example to them is always math related. I ask them if they can learn to multiply if they still do not know how to add. Their answer is always “no”, and it helps them to comprehend the importance of understanding.

    Your essay was thought-provoking, and I look forward to reading more!

    • Thanks for the observations and feedback!

      I think you are right about the categories of learners. I tend to drift toward extremes when it comes to those kinds of discussions and have to always remind myself to consider different perspectives.

      You asked about my own students and their levels of expertise. I would say that some students certainly fall in the category of “developing experts” in various fields, but as a high school students, it is very difficult for them to reach expert status so young. Even so, I teach at a specialized academy (Aviation theme), and with the territory, we attract some very gifted young people in that field. Perhaps a few of these might already be considered experts in select ways (we have multiple licensed pilots in our senior class, so one may consider them “experts”).

      In any event, the idea that I, as a teacher, may be instrumental in helping any one student develop into an expert is a very fulfilling idea!

      Thanks again!

Leave a comment